Awards presented at the Rochester Annual Meeting

Honorary members elected: Thomas Forrest Kelly, Malena Kuss, Christopher Reynolds, Judy Tsou

Corresponding members elected: Ruth HaCohen, Liudmila Kovnatskaya, Maria Teresa Linares

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Roger Moseley
For: Keys to Play. Music as a Ludic Medium from Apollo to Nintendo

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):

To: Thomas Patteson
For: Instruments for New Music

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):

To: Anna Schultz and Sumanth Gopinath
For: "Sentimental Remembrance and the Amusements of Forgetting in Karl and Harty’s 'Kentucky'"

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):

To: Andrea F. Bohlman
For: "Solidarity, Song, and the Sound Document"

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):

To: Calvin Bower
For: The Liber Ymnorum of Notker Balbulus

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):

To: Philip Bohlman and Goffredo Plastino
For: Jazz Worlds / World Jazz

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):

To: Leonora Saavedra
For: "Carlos Chávez's Polysemic Style: Constructing the National, Seeking the Cosmopolitan"

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):

To: John Troutman
For: Kika Kila: How the Hawaiian Steel Guitar Changed the Sound of Modern Music

Roland Jackson Award (music analysis):

To: Danuta Mirka
For: "The Mystery of the Cadential Six-Four"

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):

To: JoAnn Taricani
For: "An antidote against melancholy (1661): Soundscape for a Coronation" 

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):

To: Alexander Cowan
For: "Eugenics at the Eastman School: Music Psychology and the Racialization of Musical Talent"

AMS Teaching Award

To: Elizabeth Wells
For: "Foundation Courses in Music History: A Case Study"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:

Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):

To: Allison McCracken
For: Real Men Don't Sing: Crooning in American Culture

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube