Teaching Fund Winners

This award was inaugurated in 2011 for outstanding work in innovative teaching in the music history/music appreciation classroom. See the guidelines for full details.



Elizabeth Wells (Mount Allison University) for "Foundation Courses in Music History: A Case Study"


Louis Epstein (St. Olaf College) for The Musical Geography of 1920s Paris (http://pages.stolaf.edu/musicalgeography)


Estelle Joubert (Dalhousie University) for her project "Music in the Global Eighteenth Century: A New Course Proposal."


James Grymes (University of North Carolina, Charlotte), "Integrating Composition and Improvisation into the Study of Twentieth-Century Music"


Eric Hung (Westminster Choir College of Rider University), "Incorporating Local Musics in the Undergraduate Music History Curriculum"


Kimberly A. Francis (University of Guelph), to further develop Critical Voices: The University of Guelph Book Review Project, an online journal and teaching tool.

See the report of this project published in the Journal of Music History Pedagogy 4/1 (2013): "E-Publishing in the Undergraduate Music History Classroom: The University of Guelph Book Review Project"


Alice V. Clark (Loyola University of New Orleans), for her project "Web-based Guillaume de Machaut Teaching Module"

See the current module (still in progress) via this link


     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube