AMS Teaching Award

The AMS Teaching Award will honor an exceptional pedagogical resource for musicology by an AMS member or citizen or permanent resident of Canada or the United States published during the previous two years (2015 and 2016). By "resource" is meant a published article, book (including textbook), digital, or online material that best exemplifies the highest qualities of originality, theory, application, and communication for the teaching of musicology or music history. The award committee will encourage or, if necessary, limit eligibility according to these general guidelines.

The committee, consisting of three scholars, will choose a single winner from among all the candidates nominated. The winner receives a monetary prize and a certificate, conferred at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Presentation of the Society by the chair of the committee. An individual may receive the award only once.

Anyone may submit a nomination. Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted by 1 May 2017. Please use this form to submit your nomination. Additionally, the award committee may solicit the curriculum vitae of each nominee.

Previous Teaching Award winners

   Current Nominees

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube