Roland Jackson Award Winners

This award was first presented in 2016. It recognizes an article in the English language of exceptional merit in the field of music analysis, according to three separate subject categories, in successive years. See the complete award guidelines for further information.


2017 Danuta Mirka
 “The Mystery of the Cadential Six-Four,” What is a Cadence?: Theoretical and Analytical Perspectives on Cadences in the Classical Repertoire (2015), 157–84
2016 Walter Frisch
 “Arlen's Tapeworms: The Tunes That Got Away,” The Musical Quarterly 98/1–2 (2015), 139–170

Roland Jackson Award Guidelines

     Follow the AMS

      AMS at Facebook   AMS on Twitter   AMS at YouTube